I Wonder…

Engathering of exilesWe often wonder what the world would be like “if”…

We wonder about things because we think big.
We wonder about the world because we know that it can be a better place.
We wonder about life because we strive to realize the potential that’s inherent to who we are.

During my travels through the United States of America I spoke with a number of people regarding a number of issues. Of course, all topics and all conversations tended to focus on Israel and on aliyah. Over the course of a conversation with a long-standing Rabbi of a significant conversation I made mention the importance of North American aliyah to Israel, to the Jewish people as a whole and to the entire world. It is my impression that the Rabbi felt somewhat uncomfortable about what I was saying, as do many Jews that reside in America – particularly those who are committed to Judaism.

The Rabbi’s response to my comments was very interesting. He said “Sometimes I wonder what would happen if all the Jews were to move to Israel.” Out of respect for the Rabbi I did not respond, but I did think to myself: “Sometimes I wonder what would happen if they don’t”.

 

0 Responses to “I Wonder…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

